Motor not reaching operating temperature

More
2 months 2 weeks ago #201796 by mojo353
Hi There,
Newbie here...... My wifes truck ..96 Explorer 4L wont reach operating temperature. She has noticed it a lot heavier on fuel, I changed the thermostat but no change. Its not losing coolant anywhere and oil is good too.... not cloudy etc. The temp gauge on the dash reads way below half way, when we got the truck a few years ago the heat was amazing so the problem hasnt always been there. Ive noticed the top rad hose very hot after running for a while but the bottom one is way way cooler .... in fact its only warm. This would suggest a faulty thermostat to me or.... is it possible the sender unit is faulty ? Im assuming the signal from the sender unit not only goes to the dash gauge but also goes to the ECU ???.... and so the ECU reads low temperature and thus gives more fuel etc as if its a cold start ???.... I dunno Im guessing here..... The heater in the cabin doesnt blow anywhere as hot as it used to , the fan is fine - all speeds work fine..... just low to no heat.

Second issue is with my sons car..... 2006 Audi A4....... His wont blow heat unless the rpm is above 1500..... works good above that but instantly blows cold at idle. Coolant levels are good and no leaks ??

Any input or what direction to go with these issues would be appreciated, we are in Canada and its frikkin cold !!
Thanks in advance .

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Advertisement
More
2 months 2 weeks ago #201797 by relative4
Replied by relative4 on topic Motor not reaching operating temperature
Re the truck, did you replace the thermostat with OEM or aftermarket?