Menu

When to replace my trucks motor

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Service and Repair Questions Answered Here When to replace my trucks motor

• Creator
    Topic
    SteveSteve
    Participant

Hi everyone! I’m new here but I’ve been following Eric on Youtube for a while.

My truck; 1993 GMC C 1500, 5.7 L, 415,000 miles original motor, no rust, but no beauty queen, daily driver work truck, plus 200 mile round trip every Saturday getting my work to a farmer’s market where I make my living.
      10 years ago she blew an oil cooler line and ran dry of oil, so she blows some smoke, coolant puddles on the intake.
      I believe she is burning coolant as there is a white frosting buildup on the plugs after a year, and she blows white rather than blue smoke, but does not fog up the neighborhood.
      needs around a pint of coolant every 200 miles and a quart of oil every 6-800 miles.
      I am thinking bad intake or bad intake gasket.
      Decent acceleration and can still tow a trailer with around 5k lbs, No trouble on the interstate.

The only drivability issue is a but of hesitation when up to speed at steady throttle, only happens when 45 plus MPH, a little jerky feeling while holding steady speed, goes away when decelerating or accelerating.
      There is no oil in the coolant, and no coolant in the oil and no oil leaks.

My question;
      When do I give up on this engine and get a lower mileage replacement or remanufactured one? I would rather schedule a replacement rather than waiting on a brake down.
      Is there a way to estimate a possible life span?
      These symptoms have been unchanged for around 5 years.
      I do have AAA Silver Plan, so I can get home when the inevitable happens.

I would like to fix the hesitation issue

Before suggesting I give up on the whole truck, she is otherwise mechanically sound and drives perfectly for what I need

Parts under 5 years old;