2007 VW EOS Rotor Screw Head badly drilled... How do I remove?

• mrlemmer11
  • Topic Author
  • 1st Gear
  • 1st Gear
More
2 months 3 weeks ago - 2 months 3 weeks ago #201342 by mrlemmer11
Good Evening All,

Here is what the Screw is supposed to look like:

And here is the one on the other side I need to remove:

Also, I'm quite certain that with only basic Youtube skills on how to replace brakes, rotors, calipers, that this caliper is pretty much shot for me and I need to replace it correct?

Lastly, all of my rotors and pads are filled with rust. My front fenders have 2 rust holes in them each. Will rust just always be a problem for me moving forward? Or will it stop if I get rust-treated rotors and what not?

Thanks in advance for any constructive replies. I'm not a mechanic by any means, I simply spend a few hours watching youtube vids when I need to do something with my car.

Cheers,
Michael
Attachments:
Last edit: 2 months 3 weeks ago by mrlemmer11. Reason: Updating title based on user clarification of my problem.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Advertisement
  • nightflyr
  • Away
  • 6th Gear
  • 6th Gear
  • 2002 Nissan Xterra 3.3L 4X4
More
2 months 3 weeks ago #201344 by nightflyr

You have a few options.
You could center drill the screw to the matching diameter and try using a easy out to attempt to remove the screw.
Another would be to finish drilling the head off the screw, remove the rotor then using vise grips remove the remaining length of screw from the hub.
In either case I would suggest applying heat to help with removal.

As to the caliper...
All I see as far as damage is a torn dust boot and some rust / debris.
You should research replacement dust boot for your specific vehicle and try cleaning the area with a wire brush before attempting to replace the dust boot.

Concerning your thoughts about rusting rotors...
Simply put...