Honda 2.4 L VTC Actuator Noise

• Samjustsam
  • Topic Author
  • 1st Gear
  • 1st Gear
More
3 years 2 months ago #161260 by Samjustsam
Honda 2.4 L VTC Actuator Noise was created by Samjustsam
Alright, I am seeking some advice. I have a 2012 Honda CRV with the 2.4 L engine. Roughly 86,000 miles. Has that famous VTC actuator grind noise after cold start up. It sounds awful for a second. I have talked to a couple of mechanics/service advisors. Some say this is an annoyance but is not doing any harm. The Honda dealer will not replace the actuator because they insist that once it is replaced the issue often continues to re-occur. I am considering a couple things if I do indeed fix it.

Swapping it out myself (I am a light hobbyist. Oil changes, spark plugs, brakes, etc.) and this seems a little bit above my paygrade. I would print out the TSB and follow it to the letter if I did indeed do it.

Taking it to a non Honda dealer mechanic and getting an idea as to whether or not they can fix it right and not break the bank.

Questions: Is this doing harm to the engine?
Is this relatively simple for some guy to do in his garage himself?
Is it recommended I take it to side street garage mechanic that is ASE certified to just get it done?

It's my wife's vehicle and it is making her a little crazy. People walking by sort of jump when she starts it. thoughts?

Thanks, in advance.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Advertisement
More
3 years 2 months ago #161310 by ArmedsouthernEr
Replied by ArmedsouthernEr on topic Honda 2.4 L VTC Actuator Noise