Menu

I Need help/information

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge Maintenance Forums I Need help/information

• Creator
    Topic
    JamesJames
    Participant

Hi there im jadams6340. Im new to the form and i have a few questions about my car.

I have a 2007 buick lucerne with the 3.8 Buick 3800 V6 series III and i hardly hear anything about it! I hear about the series 1 and 2 which ive driven but never the series 3. Heres my dilemma.

I am about to undergo maintenance since my car just hit 100,000 miles. Ive already replaced the altenator and battery, ive always used mobile 1 synthetic oil and i always go a grade thicker. Im currently using 15W- 30 changed 2000 miles ago. Tell me if im wrong for doing so. I do it to compensate for age and to protect the rods and bearings. My grandpa did so when i was little.

Im also thinking of replacing the plugs with bosch iridium 4 electrode to help the old gal burn a little better. The belt i will be replacing. Already did a crc sensor clean.

Should i go and do a transmission fluid change. I always add a bottle of lucas to clean it out for the last 5-10 thousand miles in all my vehicles.

I was also considering doing a mild upgrade to help the xar breath better. I was thinking of a 3.5 inch exhaust with a oem grade muffler to free up some power. Im a very conservative driver. It seems the series 3 gets a little less milage a compared with the 1. I also am considering advancing the camshaft timing to bring the torque down from 3800 rpm to about 2600 rpm to help the car a bit. Should i have it done or leave it be.

Im also trying to see if this car has a differential to refill. Im not sure about fwd since this is my first. Any advice is appreciated

Viewing 7 replies - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
    • Author
      Replies
      MikeMike
      Participant

Go ahead and drop the trans pan and change the filter.
        Then replace however much fluid you drained out.
        Don’t do a flush or fluid exchange.