Menu

Why I Stopped / Newsletter Response

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge General Discussion Why I Stopped / Newsletter Response

• Creator
    Topic
    Leon AlexanderLeon Alexander
    Participant

I don’t know if Eric will read this or if it even means much since I’m just one person in a pool of a million ETCG fans, but I read the 1/19 newsletter and felt like I should respond at least from my point of view.

**Disclaimer: This will be long**

I started watching the EricTheCarGuy because I was in a desperate’ish situation and as mention in the newsletter, I really felt the connection. Everything in the videos was relatable, the being poor and not having the expensive equipment, yet finding a diy workaround or improvised tool.

These videos made me want to watch more, to learn more about car mechanics even if only to work on my own car.

I am not a mechanic, not by any stretch. I’m a technically inclined IT guy. It’s not even what I really want to do which is web development, but so far it’s just not been in the cards for me.

Why is that important? Besides being what I enjoy doing, a web developer is paid a lot more (in general and definitely at senior levels). This goes to why I stopped watching EricTheCarGuy.

It may or may not already be apparent, but for me and my situation, watching EricTtheCarGuy began leading to depression. I saw all these really cool videos on fixing things up and making modifications, with my Celica GTS it got me really excited to work on my car. That excitement became a HARD crash.