Menu

Project Car Ideas

Home Forums Stay Dirty Lounge What Are You Working On? Project Car Ideas

• Creator
    Topic
    ZacharyZachary
    Participant

I’d like to share a coupe of different project car ideas I have and hear what y’all have to say. I’ll post a brief summary of each project idea as well as the pros and cons of each idea.

Note the biggest cons I face for all projects are working space and my fabrication abilities. I have a decent-sized car port but it’s just that, a car port. Also, I have no experience with metal fabrication or welding, although I could recruit help for some jobs if needed. My father can weld and do major fabrication, but he lives about 1300 miles away.

Idea 1: 1985 IROC-Z Restoration
      Summary:
      My father-in-law has a 1985 IROC that’s been sitting in his backyard for close to 20 years. I’ve always loved Camaros (especially the IROC) and would love to get my hands on this car to restore to near factory condition. I thought about an LS1 and T56 swap from a 97-02 Camaro / Firebird, but I’d rather have matching numbers. I’ll probably be building the car for my wife.
      Pros:
      The car is only about 20 miles away.
      I might be able to get the car for next to nothing.
      It’s a Florida car.
      Parts are cheap and plentiful.
      Likely to be the cheapest project.
      Cons:
      My wife and father-in-law don’t have much of a relationship so getting the car will prove to be very difficult.
      I don’t know the condition of the car (body or mechanical) as I’ve only seen it from about 20 feet away.
      It’s an automatic. (A pro for the wife)
      Theft potential is a concern

Idea 2: 1983-1986 Ford LTD Wagon (or Sedan) Build
      Summary: